The Town of Spencer is located in central Worcester County, twenty minutes west of Worcester via Route 9, and about forty-five minutes form Springfield via Routes 49, 20, and the Massachusetts Turnpike. The population was 11,688 at the 2010 census. 

Spencer was first settles in 1717 by Nathaniel Wood, and first permanently settled by Samuel Bemis in 1721.  It was officially incorporated on April 12, 1753, splitting from the town of Leicester.  Spencer was named after the then-acting governor of Massachusetts, Spencer Phips.  Spencer was the home of the Howe family of inventors, including Elias Howe, who perfected the lockstitch sewing machine.


The Town of East Brookfield is a relatively small community located on Route 9, approximately 15 miles west of Worcester and 35 miles east of Springfield. The center of town is built on picturesque Lake Lashaway. Incorporated in 1920, East Brookfield is nicknamed "The Baby Town of the Commonwealth”, as it is Massachusetts' youngest community. Primarily a bedroom community today, East Brookfield offers a friendly, safe, close-knit environment with strong family and civic values. Largely residential, our town is made up mainly of New England style, single-family homes - some with historic significance - and boasts a diverse collection of small businesses and family restaurants. 

Syndicate content